Don Hanson to posthumously receive Robert D. King Distinguished Service Award

January 16, 2020 3:00 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

VALLEY CITY, N.D. – Don Hanson, former editor of the North Dakota Hoopster Magazines, has been named a recipient of the Robert D. King Distinguished Service Award presented by the North Dakota High School Activities Association.

The NDHSAA Board of Directors approved Hanson’s nomination Thursday, January 16 in Valley City. The NDHSAA’s Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals and organizations that have made positive contributions to interscholastic activities in the state.

Hanson began publishing the North Dakota Hoopster Magazine – a preseason high school and collegiate basketball preview magazine detailing in-depth looks at teams across the state – in 1983. He later added a Miss Hoopster Magazine in 1992. Along with team previews of every high school and collegiate team in North Dakota, Hanson’s Hoopster Magazines also featured the always popular high school basketball power polls and his preseason picks for each district, region and state winners.

Hanson was a 1960 graduate of Sherwood High School. He played baseball at Minot State University and graduated in 1964. After college, Hanson coached and taught math in New Salem, N.D. for three years before moving his family to Mandan where he taught and coached basketball. Hanson became Mandan’s head boys basketball coach in 1974 and led the program for 13 seasons including a NDHSAA Class A State Championship in 1981.

In addition to his career as an educator, coach and publisher, Hanson also was a sports official and a professional baseball scout for numerous teams in Major League Baseball including the Minnesota Twins.

Hanson passed away on September 17th, 2018. In his absence, his family, led by his son Perry, have kept The Hoopster Magazines in operation so they can continue to be enjoyed by basketball fans across the state. The Don Hanson family will be recognized at the upcoming NDHSAA Class B Boys Basketball State Tournament scheduled for March 19-21 at the Bismarck Event Center.

Previous NDHSAA Distinguished Service Award Winners:

Jim Haussler, Bismarck (2018)
Wayne Sanstead, Bismarck (2017)
Odean Olson, Jamestown (2012-13)
Ed Lockwood, Fargo (2012-13)
Sheryl Solberg, Valley City (2011)
Dave Carlsrud, Valley City (2010)
Mike Berg, Grand Forks (2010)
Robert Hetler, Valley City (2008)
Susan Anderson, Richardton-Taylor (2007)
Alton Nygaard, Des Lacs-Burlington (2007)
Bill Rogers, Fargo (2006)
Gelaine Orvik, Fargo (2005)
NBC North Dakota (2004)
Susan Carlsrud, Valley City (2001)
Minot Daily News (2000)
Alida D. Posein, Valley City (1998)
Rod Romine, Minot (1998)
Ervin Ely, Bismarck (1996)
Lee Halvorson, Williston (1995)

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.