Napoleon's Teagan Erbele named 2023-2024 NDHSAA/Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student

JAMESTOWN, N.D. – Teagan Erbele, a junior at Napoleon High School, was named the 2023-2024 North Dakota High School Activities Association and Farmers Union Insurance Distinguished Student. Interviews were held April 26 at Farmers Union Insurance Headquarters in Jamestown.

Mya Woodbeck, of Bowbells High School was chosen runner up. The other finalists interviewed were:

Logan Falk, Hankinson High School
Xzavier Buckmiller, Fargo North High School
Taryn Romfo, Langdon Area High School
Amara Howson, Northwood High School

The six finalists were selected from applications sent in by high school principals from across the state.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student program was developed to recognize deserving young people who are the “backbone” of interscholastic activities, not necessarily the leader, but the individual whose participation in high school activities strengthens the program for participants, the school and the community. Applicants are students entering their senior year. The student must be a participant as a player, manager, statistician or other role in at least one NDHSAA sponsored activity. The student must be a good citizen and role model to his/her peers as well as a contributor to his/her school and community.

The NDHSAA Distinguished Student recipient receives a Farmers Union Insurance sponsored $2,000 scholarship to the college of his/her choice. He/she is invited to be the Grand Marshal of the NDHSAA “Parade of Champions” as well as participating in other activities such as serving as the NDHSAA spokesperson for High School Activities Month, promoting the values of activity programs and participating in awarding of trophies at major NDHSAA state contests. The runner-up will receive a $1,000 scholarship of his/her choice, publication in the NDHSAA Bulletin and other recognition in connection with NDHSAA events. The other four finalists receive a $500 scholarship to the college of his/her choice, publication in the NDHSAA Bulletin and other recognition in connection with NDHSAA events.

A complete list of students that were honored as their school’s 2023-2024 Distinguished Student and submitted applications to the NDHSAA for consideration as the NDHSAA/Farmers Union Distinguished Student can be found by visiting: