NDAPSSA Mr. Basketball Finalists Announced

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

VALLEY CITY, N.D. – The finalists for the 2023 North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Mr. Basketball Award have been announced.

The Finalists are:

Darik Dissette (Minot High)
Alex Dvorak (Dickinson)
Tyson Enget (Powers Lake-Burke Central)
Ryan Erikson (Bismarck Century)
Zach Kraft (Grand Forks Red River)
Ayden Stainbrook (North Border)

Members of the NDAPSSA determine the finalists for the annual award given to the state’s top senior high school boys basketball player. A 5-3-1 points system is used to decide the winner with each NDAPSSA member voting for their top three choices.

The winner of the 2023 NDAPSSA Mr. Basketball Award will be announced Saturday, March 18.

Past Mr. Basketball Award Winners:

2022: Treysen Eaglestaff, Bismarck High
2021: Jesse White, White Shield
2020: Grant Nelson, Devils Lake
2019: Mason Walters, Jamestown
2018: Wyatt Hanson, Stanley
2017: Aanen Moody, Dickinson
2016: Jason Feather, Four Winds/Minnewaukan
2015: Brad Heidlebaugh, Rugby
2014: Tanner Kretchman, Fargo Davies
2013: A.J. Jacobson
2012: Melvin Langstaff, Warwick
2011: Phillip Schanilec, Midway-Minto
2010: Adam Randall, Kidder County
2009: Cameron Malzer, Turtle Lake-Mercer
2008: Austin Dufault, Killdeer
2007: Brian Qvale, Williston
2006: Travis Mertens, Devils Lake
2005: James Hennessy, Williston
2004: Lucas Moormann, Dickinson
2003: Tyler Koenig, Fargo North
2002: Tommy Leikas, Fargo North
2001: Adam Dobmeier, Fargo South
2000: Tyrone Terry, Valley City
1999: Jeff Brandt, Minot
1998: Jeff Boschee, Valley City
1997: Travis Sturdevant, Bismarck Century
1996: Kenny Younger, Minot
1995: Hunter Berg, Grenora
1994: Dustin Undlin, Mohall
1993: Randy Torgrimson, West Fargo
1992: Mart McDonald, Munich
1991: Bart Manson, Minot
1990: Rob Stefonowicz, Divide County
1989: (Co-winners) Chris Gardner, Fargo South; Ben Jacobson (Mayville-Portland)
1988: Scott Guldseth, Edinburg
1987: Bryan Flam, Jamestown
1986: Todd Olson, Cavalier
1985: (Co-winners) Chris Lamoureux, Newburg; Juno Pintar, Fargo North

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.