Minot's Gavin Argent medals, West Fargo Sheyenne wins team title

June 9, 2021 7:00 pm

By Tom Mix
NDHSAA Media Specialist

BISMARCK – A lightning delay on Tuesday made for a slightly longer day on the course for Day 2, but the 2021 NDHSAA Class A boys golf state tournament wrapped up on Wednesday, June 9 at Hawktree Golf Club.

Two golfers – Minot senior Gavin Argent and Grand Forks Red River senior Zach Hinschberger – needed to play an additional two playoff holes on top of their 27 regulation holes to determine individual medalist honors.

Argent and Hinschberger finished their 36-hole rounds with 4-under 140s forcing extra holes. Both playoff holes were played on Hole 18.

Both golfers scored par-5’s on the first playoff hole, but Argent scored a birdie on the second hole to edge Hinschberger by a stroke winning individual medalist honors.

Entering the final three holes of regulation play, Argent and Hinschberger were tied, but on Hole 16 Hinschberger separated with a birdie taking a lead. The lead was short lived as Hinschberger scored bogey on Hole 17, which opened the door for Argent who scored a birdie to take a one stroke lead heading into the final hole.

Argent scored par on 18, but Hinschberger scored his eighth birdie of his second round to force the playoff, which drew a large gallery of fans. Both players checked in with 5-under 67’s for Round 2.

Argent is the first Minot High golfer to win an individual state title since 2016 when Cody Reynolds took first. Argent scored six birdies on his Round 2 scorecard.

After completing the remaining nine holes of their first round earlier Wednesday, Argent and Hinschberger both sat at 1-over through 18 holes of play. Gabe Benson of Fargo Davies and Layton Bartley of West Fargo Sheyenne led after 18 holes with 1-under 71’s.

West Fargo Sheyenne won the team state championship with a 598, three strokes better than runner up Grand Forks Red River (601). It is the first team state title in program history for West Fargo Sheyenne.

Bartley paced West Fargo Sheyenne with a 4-over 148.


1. Gavin Argent, Minot, 140 *won playoff
2. Zach Hinschberger, Grand Forks Red River, 140
3. Sam Suppes, Fargo Davies, 144
4. Trey Hohbein, Mandan, 145
T5. Gabe Benson, Fargo Davies, 146
T5. Logan Schoepp, Bismarck Century, 146
T5. Jake Skarperud, Fargo Shanley, 146
T5. Saylor Kuenzel, Grand Forks Red River, 146
9. Layton Bartley, West Fargo Sheyenne, 148
T10. Tarin Walker, Bismarck High, 149
T10. Carson Seng, Grand Forks Central, 149


1, West Fargo Sheyenne, 598. 2, Grand Forks Red River, 601. 3, Fargo Davies, 603. 4, Minot, 611. 5, Bismarck Century, 619. 6, Fargo North, 625. 7, Grand Forks Central, 627. 8, Bismarck High, 669. 9, Bismarck St. Mary’s, 671. 10, West Fargo High, 676. 11, Bismarck Legacy, 685. 12, Dickinson, 700.

Follow NDHSAA on Twitter at @NDHSAA and visit www.ndhsaanow.com for the latest NDHSAA sports and activities news from around the state.